Work with schools

NUH has a long history of supporting careers events, open days and educationally-related interventions at local schools, colleges and higher education institutes and has a coordinated approach to doing so.

If you have a specific query related to a professional group please contact the individual identified by email or telephone in the Contact Us section below.

For more information visit Health Careers.

For a young person’s insight into opportunities available within the NHS visit Step into the NHS

Contact us

General enquiries

Jo Beckwith

Tel: 0115 9691169 Ext: 71138 Email: Jo.beckwith@nuh.nhs.uk

 

Apprenticeships

Michelle Place

Tel: 0115 9691169 Ext: 71152 Email: Michelle.place@nuh.nhs.uk  or apprenticelead@nuh.nhs.uk

 

Healthcare Science

Mark Lyons

Tel: 0115 9691169 Ext: 59305 Email: Mark.lyons@nuh.nhs.uk

 

Nursing

Emma Cross

Tel: 0115 9691169 Ext: 55975 or 62755 Mobile: 07713093378 Email: Emma.cross@nuh.nhs.uk

Alix Brooks

Tel: 0115 9691169 Ext 55975  Email: Alexandra.brooks@nuh.nhs.uk

 

Pharmacy

Gina Hirsh

Email: Georgina.hirsh@nuh.nhs.uk

 

Radiology

Rob Asher 

Email: Robert.asher@nuh.nhs.uk

Kathryn Jones

Email: Kathryn.jones@nuh.nhs.uk

Tel: 0115 9249924 Ext: 69437

 

Therapies

Tracy Hull

Mobile: 07812 268718 Email: Tracy.hull@nuh.nhs.uk

 

Pathology

To be Confirmed.

 

Admin/Clerical

Vicky Malia (Mangerial Roles)

Tel: 0115 9249924 Ext: 63214, Mob: 07812 275249,

Email: vicky.malia@nuh.nhs.uk

 

Claire Leatherland 

Tel: 0115 9691169 Ext: 71159

Email: Claire.Leatherland@nuh.nhs.uk

 

Estates and Facilities

Lorraine Horsley  

Tel: 0115 9691169 Ext: 57253, Mob: 07812275101

Email:  lorraine.horsley@nuh.nhs.uk

 

Informatics

Eleanor Jones

Mob: 07812268287

Email: Eleanor.Jones@nuh.nhs.uk

Upcoming events

August 2019

  • Wednesday 14th - Support for School holiday project – Timings TBC
  • Thursday 15th - Support for School holiday project - Timings TBC

September 2019

  • Thursday 12th –  National Conference Centre – 09:30 – 12:30
  • Friday 13th -  Ashfield and Mansfield Jobs Fairs - Festival Hall in Kirkby-10.00 - 14:00
  • Wednesday 25th – The Farnborough Academy Careers Fair – 17:00 – 18:30
  • Thursday 26th -  Ashfield and Mansfield Jobs - Library in Mansfield - 10.00 - 14:00

October 2019

  • Wednesday 9th - Government Departments, Public Sector & Charities Careers Fair - University Park, NG7 2RD - 12:00–15:30
  • Friday 11th - Bramcote College Careers Fair Year 11 and 6th form -09:00
  • Wednesday 16th- Nottingham Free School (Haydn Road) Parents and students careers information evening –  18:00-20:00

November 2019

  • Wednesday 6th - Future First event @ Lady Eastwood Centre, Newark Showground

March 2020

  • Thursday 19th  – Bilborough College Careers & HE Fair – 10:00 – 14:00

 

Team NUH Case Studies

August 2019

Education Secondary school, college, university, key qualifications, employment. Photo of Sharon Wallace

The Evoked Potentials (EP) Clinic of the Electrodiagnostics Section

Located in room B126 along the corridor of the Medical School , QMC, we assist with the diagnosis of disorders affecting hearing, balance and vision. Patients are referred to the clinic from a wide range of directorates and centres, including Ophthalmology, ENT, Nottingham Cochlear Implant Programme (NCIP) and the Nottingham Newborn Hearing Screening Programme (NHSP) and also from other hospitals outside Nottingham.

Visual investigations

Electroretinography (ERG) - Flash/Pattern/ S-Cone/On-Off

Electro-oculography (EOG)Photo of baby with auditory investigation

Visual Evoked Potentials (VEP) - Reversal/Onset/ Flash

Multifocal Electroretinography (mfERG) Multifocal Visual Evoked Potentials (mfVEP)

ChromaTest of colour vision Botox monitoring

Auditory investigationsAuditory brainstem response (ABR) - threshold/neurological/screening

Evoked otoacoustic emissions (OAE) Cochlear microphonics (CM)

Auditory cortical response (ACR) Cochlear implant related tests (CI) Balance investigation

Vestibular evoked myogenic potentialPhoto of lady undergoing investigation

The British Society for the Clinical Electrophysiology of Vision (BriSCEV) is the British chapter of ISCEV the International Society for Clinical Electrophysiology of Vision and the professional body for visual electrophysiology in the UK which was set up 17 years ago in Nottingham. Each year there is a national meeting hosted by different Evoked Potentials centres in their home city and next year our team in Evoked Potentials will be hosting BriSCEV 2020 back here in Nottingham. The theme this year will be ‘Occular Motor Function’.

 

For more Adminstrative Case studies please see https://www.nuh.nhs.uk/how-i-got-here---my-career-advice-

Your career is here